正念的起源

正念源於2600年前。正念是由覺悟的佛陀俢行和教導的。

為使大家了解正念的起源及其與「修習」的關係,我們在這里分享了《佛陀的啟示》的章節,讓您了解更多:

佛說:“比丘們!病有兩種。那兩種呢?肉體的病和心智的病。有人可以一年、兩年、甚至一百年、一百多年肉體都不生病。但是,比丘們啊!世間除了心無染著的人(就是說,除了阿羅漢以外),心智方面能有片刻不生病的的人,都是稀有難得的啊!”

佛的教誨,尤其是他所教的修習方法,其目的在培養健康、均衡和寧靜的心理,使臻完美。不幸的是:佛教中幾乎沒有什麼法門,像“修習”那樣被教徒及非教徒所誤解。只要一提到“修習”,馬上就使人想到逃避日常生活,擺起某種姿勢,像石窟里或寺院佛堂中的塑像一般,在遠離塵囂的處所,以從事某種秘密或神秘的冥想,或專住於神遊。真正佛教的修習,完全不是這種的逃避。佛在這一主題方面所教的內容,大大的被誤解或極少的被了解。以致到了後世,修習方法變質敗壞,竟成為一種儀式,其手續繁雜幾乎成為專門學問了。

大多數的人對於修習(或稱瑜伽)有興趣,其目的乃在獲得若干精神或秘密的力量,諸如為旁人所無的“第三隻眼”等。若干年前,就曾有一位印度佛教尼師,想練成以耳視物的神通。而當時她的視力極好,並未喪失。這種念頭無他,只是精神顛倒而已;所以仍然只是渴求權力的貪欲在作祟。

英文中所用以代表巴利原文 bhavana (修習)的 meditation (沈思、冥索)一詞,十分不妥。 Bhavana 的意義是培育、發展,尤指心智的培育與發展。肯定點說,佛教中的修習,正是百分之百的心智培育的意思。它的目的,在滌蕩淫欲、憎恚、怠惰、焦慮、不安、疑惑等心智方面的騷亂不淨,一方面又培育集中的注意力、清明的心智、知識、意志力、精進力、分析力、自信、歡喜心、寧靜的心境等優良品性,以冀最後導致如實知見一切事物本性的最高智慧,而證入最後的真理、涅槃。

 

修習有兩種。一種是發展注意力使能集中,所謂心一境性(亦稱奢摩他、三摩地、止等)。經中有許多方法,修之可達到最高的神祕境界如無所有處、非想非非想處等。這些境界,跟據佛說,都是心造心生的、是緣成的(有為法)。它們與實相、真理、涅槃無關。這一種的修習,在佛世以前已經有了。

因此,它不是純粹佛教的,但是佛教也並未將它從佛教的修習方法中剔除。可是這種方法並不是證入涅槃的要件。佛在自己證正覺以前,就曾在不同的師門下,學過這種瑜伽法門,而達到了最高的神祕境界。可是,他並不以之為滿足,因為它們並不能予他以徹底的解脫,也不能使他親見最終的實相。他認為這種神祕境界只是“此生中愉快的生活”或“平靜的生活”,如此而已。

因此,他發明了另一種的修習,叫做毘婆舍那(觀),深刻地察照萬物的本性,以導致心靈的完全解脫,而證入最終的真理、涅槃。這才是主要的佛教的修習的方法、佛教的心智培育法。它是跟據觀察、警覺、洞照與憶念而作的一種分析法。在區區數頁短紙中,要詳論這一廣泛的議題,是不可能的。以下只是一個簡單粗淺的嘗試,以略明真正的佛教修習──心智的培育或心智的發展──其實用的方法為如何而已。

佛所說的法中,有關心智發展(修習)的最重要的一部經,叫做《念住經》(巴利文《長部第二十二經》或《中部第十經》)。這部經傳統上極受尊敬。不但在寺院中經常定時背誦,在佛教家庭中亦復如是,而尤家人團坐虔誠聆聽。比丘們亦常在垂死人的病榻邊讀誦此經,以淨化臨終者最後的念頭。

這經中所創導的修習方法,既不離世亦不遁世。相反的,它與我們的生活、日常的活動、我們的憂悲喜樂、我們的語言思想、我們所從事的道德與理性的活動,靡不相關。這部經共分四大部份:第一部分是關於身體的,第二部分關於感覺與感受,第三部分關於心智,第四部分則關於各種道德的與理性的課題(法)。這裡有一事必須明白牢記:不論修習什麼方法,要緊的是念念分明,憶持不忘,並須注意觀察。

來源: 佛陀的啟示 ,第七章 修習:心智的培育,斯里蘭卡 Bhante Walpola Rahula 羅侯羅.化普樂法師 中譯者:顧法嚴

  • Facebook

Copyright © Organization for Mindfulness Hong Kong. All rights reserved.

The Origination of Mindfulness

Mindfulness has its origin in 2,600 year ago. Mindfulness was practiced and taught by the enlightened one, the Buddha.
 

To know more about the origin of Mindfulness and its relation to “meditation”, we here shared a chapter in “What the Buddha taught?”  for those interested to learn more:


The Buddha said : 'O bhikkhus, there are two kinds of illness. What are those two? Physical illness and mental illness. There seem to be people who enjoy freedom from physical illness even for a year or two. . . even for a hundred years or more. But, O bhikkhus, rare in this world are those who enjoy freedom from mental illness even for one moment, except those who are free from mental defilements'(i.e., except arahants).

The Buddha's teaching, particularly his way of 'meditation', aims at producing a state of perfect mental health, equilibrium and tranquility. It is unfortunate that hardly any other section of the Buddha's teaching is so much misunderstood as 'meditation', both by Buddhists and non-Buddhists. The moment the word 'meditation' is mentioned, one thinks of an escape from the daily activities of life; assuming a particular posture, like a statue in some cave or cell in a monastery, in some remote place cut off form society ; and musing on, or being absorbed in, some kind of mystic or mysterious thought or trance. True Buddhist 'meditation' deteriorated and degenerated into a kind of ritual or ceremony almost technical in its routine.

Most people are interested in meditation or yoga in order to gain some spiritual or mystic powers like the 'third eye', which others do not possess. There was some time ago a Buddhist nun in India who was trying to develop a power to see through her ears, while she was still in the possession of the 'power' of perfect eyesight! This kind of idea is nothing but 'spiritual perversion'. It is always a question of desire, 'thirst' for power.

The word meditation is a very poor substitute for the original term bhavana, which means 'culture' or 'development', i.e., mental culture or mental development. The Buddhist bhavana, properly speaking, is mental culture in the full sense of the term. It aims at cleansing the mind of impurities and disturbances, such as lustful desires, hatred, ill-will, indolence, worries and restlessness, sceptical doubts, and cultivating such qualities as concentration, awareness, intelligence, will, energy, the analytical faculty, confidence, joy, tranquility, leading finally to the attainment of highest wisdom which sees the nature of things as they are, and realizes the Ultimate Truth, Nirvana.

There are two forms of meditation. One is the development of mental concentration (samatha or samadhi), of one-pointedness of mind (cittekaggata, Skt.Cittaikagrata), by various methods prescrbed in the texts, leading up to the highest mystic states such as 'the Sphere of Nothingness' or 'the Sphere of Neither-Perception-nor-Non- Perception'. All these mystic states, according to the Buddha, are mind-created, mind-produced, conditioned(samkhata). They have nothing to do with Reality, Truth, Nirvana. This form of meditation existed before the Buddha.

Hence it is not purely Buddhist, but it is not excluded from the field of Buddhist meditation. However it is not essential for the realization of Nirvana. The Buddha himself, before his Enlightenment, studied these yogic practices under different teachers and attained to the highest mystic states ; but he was not satisfied with them, because they did not give complete liberation, they did not give insight into the Ultimate Reality. He considered these mystic states only as 'happy living in this existence' (ditthadhammasukhavihara), or 'peaceful living' (samtavihara), and nothing more.

He therefore discovered the other form of 'meditation' known as vipassana(Skt. vipasyana or vidarsana), 'Insight' into the nature of things, leading to the complete liberation of mind, to the realization of the Ultimate Truth, Nirvana. This is essentially Buddhist 'meditation', Buddhist mental culture. It is an analytical method based on mindfulness, awareness, vigilance, observation. It is impossible to do justice to such a vast subject in a few pages. However an attempt is made here to give a very brief and rough idea of the true Buddhist 'meditation', mental culture or mental development, in a practical way.

The most important discourse ever given by the Buddha on mental development ('meditation') is called the Satipatthana-sutts 'The Setting-up of Mindfulness'(No. 22 of the Digha-nikaya, or No.10 of the Majjhima-nikaya). This discourse is so highly venerated in tradition that it is regularly recited not only in Buddhist monasteries, but also in Buddhist homes with members of the family sitting round and listening with deep devotion. Very often bhikkhus recite this sutta by the bed-side of a dying man to purify his last thoughts.

The ways of 'meditation' given in this discourse are not cut off from life, nor do they avoid life ; on the contrary, they are all connected with our life, our daily activities, our sorrows and joys, our words and thoughts, our moral and intellectual occupations. The discourse is divided into four main sections : the first section deals with our body (kaya), the second with our feelings and sensations (vedana), the third with the mind (citta), and the fourth with various moral and intellectual subjects(dhamma). It should be clearly borne in mind that whatever the form of 'meditation' may be, the essential thing is mindfulness or awareness (sati), attention or observation (anupassana).


Source:  Chapter7: “Meditation of mental culture: Bhavana”, What the Buddha Taught? by Walpola Rahula

  • Facebook

Copyright © Organization for Mindfulness Hong Kong. All rights reserved.